live hangers

‘Fashionopolis’ short review

Hello dear,

I hope you celebrated Easter in peace and joy.

Today I come to your attention with a short review about a book by Dana Thomas, entitled Fashionopolis: The Price of Fast Fashion and the Future of Clothes. This book came into my hands through the Bookster platform. In Romania I saw the book available in stock on the Elefant website (https://www.elefant.ro/fashionopolis-the-price-of-fast-fashion-and-the-future-of-clothes-hardback_b08e906b-690d-4e53-a5e7-4e4a61c6bef9).

First of all I want to say that this book is very well structured and thought out to make us understand in general the real price we pay for the fashion industry. In her research trip, Dana showed us a thousand reasons why we should pay more attention to the price we offer for what we wear. I wanted to highlight the same thing in previous posts, and if I managed to change the perspective of approaching at least one young person, I declare myself the winner. In the pages of the book Dana managed to offer a historical perspective of the fashion industry on the past, present and future. Sometimes, reading between the lines of this book you can say to yourself “God, I should stop buying more clothes”… just to realize the impact of the author’s research.

In my opinion, the content of this book could be divided into three parts. The first part describes carefully, explains by numbers the impact of the textile industry on the environment and why not on the population. The second and third part is followed by the technological progress registered in the field and about a reform when it comes to “wearing clothes”.

I want to encourage you to read Dana’s book to have a look at what is happening around us and how profitable the Zara model has become.